Student LogIn

More information will follow in due course

Theological Institute Home

Governing Council

Governing Council

The body charged with the oversight of the Theological Institute of the Church of Ireland is the Governing Council. The full details regarding the agreed governance arrangements for the institute can be seen here.


Bishop of Armagh

Most Revd John McDowell

B.A.Hons., B.Th., Dip.B.S.

Archbishop of Dublin

The Most Revd Michael Jackson

MA, PhD, DPhil (Chair)

Bishop of Derry & Raphoe

Rt Rev Andrew Forster

RCB Executive

Mr Keith Roberts

Standing Committee lay member

Mr Richard Codd

MTh Full–time Student Rep

Caroline Brennan

MTh Part–time Student Rep

David Thomas

Chief Officer, RCB (ex officio)

Mr David Ritchie

Ex Officio

Revd Canon Maurice Elliott

MA, BTh, MPhil, PhD

Dr Maurice Elliott studied languages, linguistics and theology in St Andrews, and theology through both Dublin and Belfast. His academic interests include homiletics, the theory and practice of contemporary Christian leadership and Anglican Reformation ecclesiology.

Learn more

Deputy Director (CITI) appointed by House of Bishops

Dr Katie M. Heffelfinger

BA, MDiv, ThM, PhD

Katie Heffelfinger studied theology at Asbury Theological Seminary and Princeton Theological Seminary. She holds a PhD in Hebrew Bible from Emory University. Katie’s research interests include the potential for biblical poetry to enliven theological imagination, lyric approaches to ancient Near Eastern poems, and the role of memory in the development of exilic period theology. She has written a recently published article on the poetic juxtaposition of the Servant and Zion in Second Isaiah. An article on Second Isaiah’s reuse of the Lamentations’ poetic imagery is forthcoming. Katie is currently writing a commentary on Isiah 40 –66 and a book on Salvation in the Hebrew Bible.

Bursar, Theological Institute

Lynda Levis